Reflections on Teaching   21 comments

My philosophy of teaching English language centers around what I view as a language’s main purpose: to communicate needs and to understand the needs of others. I believe that acquiring English enables minority populations, such as English language learners, to more fully participate in the English-speaking society in which they live.

Within the ESL classroom, my beliefs about language teaching are reflected by a practice of bottom-up, student-centered, task-based instruction. I initially center each topic within my students’ own experiences, then introduce the English vocabulary they can use to communicate about the topic in English in order to complete a real-world task, such as calling information (411) for a telephone number, attending a job interview, or depositing money at a bank. In this way, students are exposed to English within their own realm of experience; they can then acquire English by linking the new language to their first languages in the context of their own experiences and needs.

I strongly believe that adult learners know what they want to learn, why they want to learn, and how they want to learn. As teacher, my aim is to facilitate their learning. In this way, my ESL class enables my students to be autonomous learners.  I base my instruction and activities upon what my students need and want, yet still manage their instruction by planning each lesson, and guiding their development by providing both instantaneous and post-task feedback orally and in writing. In addition, providing students with feedback enables them the autonomy to reflect upon their work, make adjustments, and learn from the experience.

Finally, I do not subscribe to the “teacher knows best” philosophy. Ultimately we must meet our students’ needs rather than blindly following the prescribed curriculum, or regarding any failure on the students’ part as purely their own fault. My role as ESL teacher is to guide my students to use the language to fully participate in society rather than merely perfect their production of it.

Posted March 11, 2011 by Cyn Hatch in ESL Teaching

Tagged with , ,

21 responses to “Reflections on Teaching

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and fantastic design.

  2. Hey! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and great design.

  3. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  4. Very interesting article about the% BlogTitle% is very interesting, I look forward to more such articles.

  5. Very interesting article about the% BlogTitle% is very interesting, I look forward to more such articles.

  6. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is awesome, great written and include approximately all significant infos. I’d like to peer extra posts like this.

  7. I appreciate, result in I discovered just what I was having a look for. You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  8. I got what you intend, saved to fav, very nice website .

  9. its wonderful as your other posts : D, thankyou for putting up.

  10. Complete and very clear written! Thank you for this helpful information.

  11. Hello there! I simply want to give you a huge thumbs up for your excellent info you have got here on this post. I will be returning to your website for more soon.

  12. Very good post. I definitely love this site. Continue the good work!

  13. This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me. Thanks a lot!

  14. Me and my close friend were arguing about an issue very similar to this! Now I know that I was right. lol! Appreciate it for the information you blog post. My kind regards, Maris.

  15. Good blog you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to find high-quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  16. Hello There. Today using msn. This really is an extremely well crafted article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read simple things i’ll get to your useful info. Information post. I’ll certainly return.

  17. Good blog layout, will bookmark your article : Reflections on Teaching ESL Teaching and Learning and also add your rss feed to my feed readers! Many thanks for a very interesting read!However,It’s weird to find out just how many different blogs the internet has about this topic. I don’t know if I will ever need to return here, but it’s awesome to know I stumbled upon the one that provides some valuable info if this ever comes up for me another time.

  18. Can I simply just say what a relief to discover someone that genuinely understands what they are discussing over the internet. You definitely understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people must check this out and understand this side of the story. I was surprised you are not more popular because you certainly have the gift.

  19. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it
    better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  20. Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely
    believe this web site needs a great deal more attention.
    I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the info!

  21. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
    and found that it’s really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful whenever you continue this in future. A whole lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

